## CENTRAL LYON BOARD MINUTES November 12, 2018

The Central Lyon Board of Directors held a public hearing in the Board Room of the Central Lyon Community School at 6:50 P.M. on the question of whether to convene school for the 2019-2020 school year prior to the date established by law (Iowa Code 279.10(2)). No public comments were received. President Jans closed this portion of the meeting at 6:55 P.M.

The Central Lyon Board of Directors held a public hearing in the Board Room of the Central Lyon Community School at 6:55 P.M. to consider participating in the Instructional Support Program for a period not exceeding five (5) years commencing the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021. No public comments were received. President Jans closed this portion of the meeting at 7:00 P.M.

The Central Lyon Board of Directors met in regular session in the Board Room of the Central Lyon Community School at 7:00 P.M. with the following members present: President David Jans, Vice-President Andy Koob, Directors Joel DeWit, Scott Postma and Keri Davis, Superintendent Dave Ackerman and Board Secretary Jackie Wells. Other individuals present were EL Principal Steve Harman, MS/HS Principal/Activities Director Jason Engleman, Kristi Wright, Sutton Schlumbolm, Allie Geerdes, Alayna Gorter, Stephanie Baker, Devin Miller, Laureen Schram, Allison Bixenman and Emily Deutsch.

The meeting was called to order at 7:00 P.M.

Koob moved to approve the agenda with an additional bills listing and item 2a under Personnel and Davis seconded, carried 3-0.

Director DeWit arrived at 7:02 P.M.

Davis moved to approve additional agenda items including minutes of past meetings, the financial report through October 31, 2018 and the summary list of bills; DeWit seconded, carried 4-0.

In recognition, the Central Lyon volleyball team and coaching staff were recognized for a successful season and recognition to Sutton Schlumbohm as 1<sup>st</sup> team Unanimous All Conference; Kiley Metzger and Ellie Peterson as 2<sup>nd</sup> team All-Conference; Nikki Blomendaal, as 3<sup>rd</sup> team All-Conference; Farrah Lewis, Honorable Mention and a milestone of 200 wins for Coach Schar. The boys cross country team was recognized for an outstanding season including 2<sup>nd</sup> as a team in districts with Taeron Olson, Daniel Schriever and Kade Griesse recognized for their finishes. The girls finished 11<sup>th</sup> as a team at districts with Sami Ebel and Lauren Langholdt recognized for their times. The boys placed 4<sup>th</sup> as a team at state. Congratulations to the Central Lyon Musical Grease on successful and entertaining performances. Devin Miller was recognized for his accomplishments as a member of the National FFA Band.

In reports, Stephanie Baker, TLC Math Lead Teacher, presented future plans, activities and goals for math assessments and teaching strategies for the district.

Principal Harman reported that Parent Teacher Conferences were a success with an average of 92% participation by parents in grades PK-4. Principal Engleman reported that Parent Teacher Conferences had a 98% attendance in the middle school and 50% in high school and shared ACT

results. A Veteran's Day Ceremony took place in conjunction with the local auxiliary on November 9, 2018.

Director DeWit informed the board there will be a sharing committee meeting with George-Little Rock on December 11, 2018.

Superintendent David Ackerman shared certified enrollment figures with details on students in the seats, preschool and open enrollment in and out. Overall the district is up 19.2 students compared to 2017-2018. Mr. Ackerman updated the board on several projects including auditorium lighting, softball field improvements, football practice field excavation and leveling and the 1968 plumbing project bids and timelines.

In New Business, DeWit moved to approve starting the 2019-2020 school year prior to the week in which September 1 falls (Iowa Code Chapter 279.10(2)); Koob seconded, and in a roll call vote 4 aye, 0 nay.

Koob moved to approve the Modified Supplemental Growth for Increasing Enrollment, Increased Open Enrollment out Students Not on the Previous Years Certified Enrollment and LEP Instruction beyond 5 years in the amount of \$96,324; DeWit seconded, carried 4-0.

DeWit moved to approve participation in the Instructional Support Program for a period not exceeding five (5) years commencing the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021 and Davis seconded. In a roll call vote, 4 aye, 0 nay.

Director Postma arrived at 7:54 P.M.

In personnel, Davis moved to approve the hiring of Pam Attig, Substitute Bus Driver; Sandra DeBoer, Paraprofessional; Jessica Herman, Dale Jansma, Sheila Maxwell, After School Program Teachers; and Cheryl Mans and Linda Wessels, After School Program Paraprofessionals. DeWit seconded, carried 5-0.

President David Jans read a resignation/retirement letter from David Ackerman, Superintendent. Vice-President Andy Koob read a brief statement regarding interview, replacement and transition goals for this position and the district. The district will contract with a 3<sup>rd</sup> party search firm, with advertisements and a candidate search to begin immediately. Postma moved to approve the resignation and early retirement request of David Ackerman, Superintendent at the end of the 2018-2019 fiscal year with a request to stay in district as a consultant and transition of the replacement Superintendent for the beginning of the 2019-2020 school year. Koob seconded, carried 5-0.

There will be a work session at 6:00 P.M. on Monday, December 3, 2018 in the Central Lyon board room. The next regular board meeting will be at 7:00 P.M. on Monday, December 10, 2018 in the Central Lyon board room.

Davis moved to adjourn at 8:05 P.M. and DeWit seconded, carried 5-0.