CENTRAL LYON BOARD MINUTES MAY 14, 2018

The Central Lyon Board of Directors met in regular session in the Board Room of the Central Lyon Community School at 7:00PM with the following members present: President David Jans, Vice-President Scott Postma, Directors Keri Davis, Joel DeWit and Andy Koob, Superintendent David Ackerman and Board Secretary Jackie Wells. Other individuals present were EL Principal Steve Harman, MS-HS Principal/Activities Director Jason Engleman, Stephanie Baker, Jessica Jensen, Sara Groen, Krista Sprock, Bill Allen, Jamie Schar, Michelle VanWyhe, Megan Whitsell, Denise McCarty, Curtis Eben, Sutton Schlumbolm, Jarrett Meyer, Kiah Thiessen, Americas Virtue and Connie Wilson.

The meeting was called to order at 7:00 P.M. Koob moved to approve the agenda with additional bills presented and two additional item for consideration under Personnel; Postma seconded, carried 4-0.

Koob moved to approve the minutes from the April 9, 2018 regular board meeting, the financial report through April 30, 2018 and the summary list of bills; Davis seconded, carried 4-0.

Director DeWit arrived at 7:04P.M.

In recognition, the month of May is designated as School Board Recognition Month. Administration expressed their appreciation for each of the board members and their role in increasing student achievement. Lester Feed & Grain was thanked for the donation of \$1961.57 to the Backpack Program. Gable Sieperda, Bailey Herman and Jacob Van Veldhuizen were thanked for their role in a student presentation. Several track athletes were recognized for an advancement to state and the girls and boys track teams were recognized for winning district titles.

In Reports, Bill Allen and Jamie Schar presented results from the 2017-2018 community survey. Board discussion took place on how to address concerns and weaknesses. Administration noted that PBIS is addressing some of the discipline comments. Positive Behavior Interventions & Supports has been implemented in the lower elementary and will transition into other grades in the future. Mr. Allen and Mrs. Schar gave a summary of Iowa Assessment Scores and noted that staff concluded the line item analysis to address strengths and weaknesses per grade level.

Krista Sprock and Michelle VanWyhe presented the FAST year end summary for grades TK/K - 4. FAST testing is required through the Department of Education and addressing reading comprehension, fluency and speed.

Technology Directory Curtis Eben presented a technology request for replacement of 65 1:1 laptops, 125 Chromebooks and 20 staff laptops as well as applicable software in the amount of \$154,885 for the 2018-2019 school year. The finance committee will meet to discuss how this purchase will be funded.

Principal Steve Harman gave an Iowa Core Curriculum and class size update for 2018-2019. Preschool has 18 registered for the mornings and 23 registered for afternoons. There are 24 scheduled for Transitional Kindergarten and 47 in Kindergarten. These numbers will continue to change with summer registration.

Sara Groen and Jaci Van Veldhuizen reported on PBIS: Positive Behavior Intervention & Supports. The program focuses on being intentional with praise, consistently rewards positive behaviors, and addresses minor and major offenses with set parameters. The spring 2018 roll-out has focused on education of voice levels and "give me five."

Principal/Activities Director Jason Engleman stated that May 15 is the seniors' last day with awards in the afternoon and commencement on Sunday, May 20, 2018 at 3 P.M.

Superintendent Ackerman reported the Tiny House is very close to completion and the instructor and students will enter it in the Heritage Days parade and open house in Island Park. The house is sold for the cost of materials and a design and buyer is set for the 2018-2019 school year. Mr. Ackerman reported that a proposal has been presented to school, city and ball complex representatives for softball field additions. The finance committee will meet to discuss the possibility of funding this project in conjunction with the city.

In New Business, DeWit moved to approve a Lyon County Riverboat Foundation mini grant in the amount of \$2,000 for a district laminator and Davis seconded. In a roll call vote, 5 yay, 0 nay. Koob moved to approve the AEA purchasing agreement for 2018-2019 and Postma seconded, carried 5-0. DeWit moved to approve the Mid-Sioux Opportunity, Inc. Transportation Agreement for Head Start for 2018-2019 and Davis seconded, carried 5-0. Koob moved to approve 2.27% increase to the certified staff wages and benefits for 2018-2019 and Postma seconded, carried 5-0.

Postma moved to approve a resolution authorizing submission from a governmental body for the Frank Boon Trust for 3 requests: Interactive Digital Video Board, FFA Farm Improvement and 2017-2018 Tiny House startup funds. Davis seconded and in a roll call vote, 5 aye, 0 nay.

In Personnel, DeWit moved to approve the resignations of Kelly Weiler, MS Softball coach; Megan Whitsell, 7th grade volleyball coach; Mitch Peschon, ELL Teacher, Assistant baseball and assistant basketball coach; Thea Klinnert, TK-7 Music; Emily Holtgrewe, Paraprofessional; Alissa Snuttjer, Paraprofessional; and Tammy Hoppe, Elem Art. Davis seconded, carried 5-0.

Postma moved to approve the hiring of Kari Meindl, TK-6 Guidance Counselor; Janelle Flatebo, TK-7 Music; Kelly Weiler, MS Volleyball coach; Heather Grafing, MS Softball coach; Jodi Schrick, Tana Meyer, Melissa Lockey, Denise McCarty and Sue Boogerd, Cheryl Mans and Amy DeBoer, Summer Reading Program leaders and assistants; Laureen Schram, Kristi Kahl, Kelli Docker, Tana Meyer and one TBD, Extended School Year (ESY) Teachers; and DeWit seconded, carried 5-0.

The next regular scheduled board meeting will be at 7:00 P.M. on Monday, June 11, 2018 in the Central Lyon Board Room. Koob moved to adjourn at 8:44 P.M.; DeWit seconded, carried 5-0.